Lake County News | California

Dec 22nd
Text size
  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

Home News Latest Lake County Farm Bureau hosts 91st annual meeting

Lake County Farm Bureau hosts 91st annual meeting

E-mail Print PDF

Craig Shannon, past Lake County Farm Bureau President, introducing the 2014 Lake County Farm Bureau Scholarship recipients Lindee Jones and Ian Seevers at the 91st annual meeting and dinner on Wednesday, July 16, 2014, in Lakeport, Calif. Photo courtesy of Lake County Farm Bureau.

LAKEPORT, Calif. – Lake County Farm Bureau held its 91st annual meeting and dinner combined with the “Love of the Land” fundraiser last week at the Cole Creek Equestrian Center in Kelseyville.

The annual event, held July 16, brought together more than 200 members of the Lake County agricultural community.

Attendees included local farmers and ranchers, county leaders, members of the Mendocino Farm Bureau and representation from the California Farm Bureau Federation, and friends, family and children of the Lake County Farm Bureau.

The evening’s festivities kicked off with a wine mixer hosted by the Lake County Winery Association.

A flag ceremony led by the Kelseyville Boy Scout Troop and invocation by Gary Sack, California Farm Bureau Federation field director, preceded a delicious tri-tip and chicken dinner prepared by the Kelseyville FFA followed by the Lake County Farm Bureau Membership Meeting and the third Annual Dessert Auction.

Lake County Farm Bureau 2014-15 President David Rosenthal introduced the new slate of directors.

In addition to Rosenthal, the 17-member board includes Glenn Benjamin, Keith Brandt, Terry Dereniuk, Robert Gayaldo, Diane Henderson, Paul Lauenroth, Jeff Lyon, Beau Moore, Dave Mostin, Greg Panella, Monica Rosenthal, Pat Scully, Craig Shannon, Daniel Suenram, Rob Suenram and Gary Wielen.

The board of directors represent all districts in Lake County and all agricultural interests of the region.

“While I look forward to this event every year, the 91st annual Lake County Farm Bureau Meeting and Dinner was especially fun,” said Rosenthal.

There was increase in the presence of youth which brought renewed energy to this annual farming event and a healthy vision of the future of Lake County agriculture.”

This year’s Agriculture Appreciation Award went to Annette Hopkins for her role in founding and developing the Lake County AgVenture program.

Now in its fourth year, AgVenture is an innovative concept designed to build a bridge of understanding between those in agriculture and leaders in the community who influence the public opinion and policies which directly affect Lake County farmers’ ability to farm.

Others honored for their commitment to Lake County Farm Bureau include Marc Hooper, for his service as president from 2012 to 2014; Claudia Street, for her service as executive director from 2012 to 2014; and Shirley Campbell, acknowledged for being the newest 2014 member of the local Farm Bureau Presidents Club.

Lake County Farm Bureau President Dave Rosenthal presenting Annette Hopkins with the Lake County Farm Bureau Agriculture Appreciation Award at the 91st annual meeting and dinner on Wednesday, July 16, 2014, in Lakeport, Calif. Photo courtesy of Lake County Farm Bureau.

Local Chacewater winemaker Mark Burch served as the spirited auctioneer and was accompanied by musical sound bites from “Sounds Like Fun” DJ Anthony Barthel.

A selection of farm-themed baked goods raised more than $3,000 for the Lake County Farm Bureau scholarship fund for local youth pursuing careers in agriculture.

Scholarship recipients Lindee Jones, Ian Seevers and Rebecca Pachie were acknowledged for their stellar academic performance and Blair Brookes, Lake County Farm Bureau summer intern, was introduced during the event program.

A highlight of the evening was the announcement of the new Lake County Farm Bureau executive director, Allison Tucker.

Tucker is a graduate of Arizona State University where she majored in global agribusiness. She brings a passion for farming and has an impressive background of FFA activities culminating in being an assistant coach to an FFA Stat Champion Parliamentary Procedure Team.

The Lake County Farm Bureau 91st annual meeting and dinner was sponsored by Bella Vista Farming Co., Six Sigma Winery, Calpine Corp., Cole Creek Equestrian Center, Dunken Pumps Inc., Yokayo Wine Co., Duarte Nursery, Scully Packing Co., State Compensation Insurance Fund, American Ag Credit, Lincoln-Leavitt Insurance Agency, Sutter Lakeside Hospital, The Pear Doctor, Cold Creek Compost, Ag Unlimited Lakeport, Henderson & Rhoner Orchards, Lake County Rodeo Association, Savings Bank of Mendocino, UCC Rentals, Bob Bartley Pump Inc., North Lake Medical Pharmacy, RB Pest Control, Braito’s Marina, Konocti Vista Resort and Casino, Bengard Marketing and Big Valley Properties.

The Farm Bureau thanked the many volunteers, the dessert auction bakers and the Kelseyville FFA for making this event possible. A special thank you goes to the Kelseyville Boy Scout Troup #45 for their assistance and commitment to the Lake County Farm Bureau annual event, to UCC rentals for providing the rentals, Kristen Krohn for her photography skills, and to John and Joanne Van Eck for graciously hosting the 91st LCFB Celebration 2014.

Lake County Farm Bureau is a nonprofit organization with a volunteer board whose purpose is to protect and promote the agricultural interests and economy in Lake County and to find solutions for the challenges facing farmers and the agriculture industry today.

For more information about Lake County Farm Bureau or to find out how you can join the Farm Bureau today, please contact Executive Director Allison Tucker at 707-263-0911 or email [email protected] .

Attendees preparing to bid on the dessert auction at the Lake County Farm Bureau 91st annual meeting and dinner on Wednesday, July 16, 2014, in Lakeport, Calif. Photo courtesy of Lake County Farm Bureau.

Subscribe to me on YouTube
Comments (0)Add Comment

Write comment
You must be logged in to post a comment. Please register if you do not have an account yet.